The 48th Annual ASIFA East Awards, Special Thanks!

The camera-less animation station let guests create and socialize. Directed by Robert Lyons.

On Sunday, May 21st, ASIFA East hosted our 48th annual animated film awards at Parsons, The New School for Design, for a lively and excited audience. The films this year were exceptional and many of the filmmakers were in attendance to receive their prizes and praise in person from the local ASIFA East community.

Thanks again to the New School’s Anezka Sebek for graciously hosting us as well as Gary Leib for editing the Parsons animation reel. My festival co-chairpersons this year were David Langkamp and Tristian Goik with special advising and planning from Masako Kanayama. This year we were honored to have special assistance with entries by the talented Angela DeVito. Thanks to Christi Bertelsen who worked with Emily Compton to continue our online entry process. Our signal film this year was created by John Walter Lustig. William Hohauser seamlessly edited our festival reel. Our awards certificates were designed by Christi Bertelsen with art from the signal film as well as our promotional postcard. Tristian Goik, Christi Bertelsen, and Emily Compton kept us all informed all over the web about the jury screenings, festival and awards FAQs, and the award ceremony itself. Thank you to the very talented Isam Prado for designing our 3D-printed Best in Show prize.  The School of Visual Arts provided our festival jury screenings venue. Robert Lyons set up the most fantastic mid-reception camera-less anijam station. Buzzco provided our entry sorting conference room space. Thanks to the ASIFA East Board for pitching in to sort the festival submissions. Thank you to Women In Animation’s Lisa Goldman for participating and bringing a special honor to women filmmakers at the awards night. An extra special thanks is due to our ASIFA East Board and member volunteers who helped us on the night of the event and leading up to it to get the party ready for everyone – Bill Lorenzo, David Howard, Masako Kanayama, Patricia Burgess, Daniel Vasquez, Ray Kosarin, Emily Compton, Robert Lyons, Jose Maldonado, John Water Lustig, Stephen Klein, and Iemi Hernandez-Kim! 


Thanks to our sponsor’s for the awards: Bustle Digital Group, who supported our wine for the evening. Bustle Digital Group is home to Bustle, Elite Daily, and Romper. BDG is redefining women’s interest with a fresh take on content.

Thank you to Masako Kanayama for coordinating the catering as well as David Langkamp and Daniel Vasquez for assisting with projection. Steve Zelin was our Festival CPA and tallied the votes. Megan Strause was our wonderful photographer who took photos throughout the evening and can be found at Joe Elliot Photography as well as at the bottom of this post. Our after party was at Fiddlesticks Pub and with good turnout.  And thank you to our executive board that put in all the elbow grease and energy to get ready on the big night.