The 2012 ASIFA-East Animation Awards

Sunday, April 29, 2012 at Tishman Auditorium, The New School, NYC

Congratulations to all our winners!!!!!

2012 Opening Film

Animated by Kristen Chaiponne and Chris Conforti with music by Keith Chaiponne.

Best in Show

John and Joe by StoryCorps / Rauch Brothers.


Independent Films: First Place

Turning A Corner by David B. Levy

Independent Films: Second Place

Dr. Breakfast by Stephen Neary.

Independent Films: Third Place

The First Time Cee Cee Did Acid by Twins Are Weird

Independent Films: Excellence in Animation

More Than Winning by Nick Fox-Gieg

Independent Films: Excellence in Design

The Girl and the Fox by Base 14 / Tyler J. Kupfrerer

Independent Films: Excellence in Design

Orbis Park by Andrew Kaiko


Independent Films: Excellence in Soundtrack

Car Crash Opera by Skip Battiglia


Independent Films: Excellence in Writing

Wolf Dog Tales by Bernadine Santistevan

Music Videos: First Place

The Light That Died in My Arms by Alan Foreman

Music Videos: Second Place

(Baby) It’s You by David Cowles, Jeremy Galante, and Brad Pattullo

Music Videos: Third Place

Le Soleil Chante by Delphine Burrus


Experimental Films: First Place

Taxonomy by Karen Aqua

Experimental Films: Second Place

Two by Steven Subotnick


Experimental Films: Third Place

Old Man by Leah Shore

Commissioned Over Two Minutes: First Place

Miss Devine by StoryCorps / Rauch Brothers


Commissioned Over Two Minutes: Second Place

Don’t Let The Pigeon Stay Up Late by Mo Willems / Pete List


Commissioned Over Two Minutes: Third Place

I Can Be President by Michael Sporn Animation, Inc.

Commissioned Over Two Minutes: Excellence in Education

Journey of a Water Molecule by Jose Maldonado  and MB Hunnewell

Commissioned Over Two Minutes: Excellence in Writing

A History of Animation by Morgan Miller

Commissioned Under Two Minutes: First Place

Headstart “Window of Opportunity” by Curious Pictures / Matt Smithson

Commissioned Under Two Minutes: Second Place

Country Buildin’ by Paganomation / David Pagano

Commissioned Under Two Minutes: Third Place

Person Pinball by Aaron Hughes

Commissioned Under Two Minutes: Excellence in Animation

Red Brick Saga: Pirates of the Caribbean by Paganomation / David Pagano

Student Films: First Place

Apt. 5A by Leonardo De Luzio


Student Films: Second Place

Test Train by Brandon Denmark

Student Films: Third Place

Cowboy, Clone, Dust by Matt Christensen

Student Films: Honorable Mention

Reddish Brown and Bluish Green by Samantha Gurry